Wednesday, March 10, 2010

New Serbian Book on Ian McEwan by Zorica Đergović-Joksimović

Zorica Đergović-Joksimović
Ijan Makjuan: polifonija zla
Geopoetika, 2009
ISBN: 9788676662043
Ian McEwan has demonstrated a remarkable interest in the problem of evil from the very beginning of his writing career. yet, he is not focused on the anthropology of evil but is primarily attracted to the epistemology of evil and the presentation how this encounter is reflected upon the lives of his protagonists. The structure of McEwan's novels is based on the process of initiation which his naive and inexperienced characters have to undergo. This initiation brings them the newly acquired maturity. As the nine analyzed novels (The Cement Garden, The Comfort of Strangers, The Child in Time, The Innocent, Black Dogs, The Daydreamer, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, and Atonement) show, love proves to be the only force which can bring atonement and rebirth.
Order from the publisher Geopoetika:


Post a Comment

<< Home